=>Kenya to Chair ICH Eevaluation Body Read More
=>2017 UNU-IAS Master's and Doctoral Degree Programmes Scholarship Application Read More to Apply

=>Brookings Careers Echidna Global Scholars Program: Read More to Apply Before

=>UNESCO/ISEDC Co-Sponsored Fellowships Programme - 2018 now open. For more info please click here The application deadline is 3 April 2018.

=>Call for applications of 2018 AAAS-TWAS Science Diplomacy course Read More Deadline: 9th April 2018

  • =>Call for Nominations: UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence Read More to apply before 30 April 2018 at midnight CET
  • =>Call for application: Green Chemistry research grants for young scientists. Green Chemistry for Life Grant Programme: Application deadline: Deadline: 28 February 2018. Read More to Apply
  • =>Call for Nominations for the L’OREAL-UNESCO Prize for Women in Science Read More to Apply
UNESCO International Prizes and Awards

UNESCO offers various prizes and awards to recognize a person or group of persons or institutions for an outstanding contribution they have made in the fields of education, natural sciences, social and human sciences, culture and communication and information in a member state or region. These awards are offered on an annual or bi-annual basis. Each award carries with it a monetary prize to the Beneficiary.



The Kenya Commission for UNESCO (KNATCOM) is pleased to invite submissions for the nominations for the 2018 edition of the UNESCO / Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize, created in honour of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who was assassinated in 1986 while in exercise of his profession.

Awarded annually on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day, the Prize consists of a medal symbolizing the award, as well as a monetary recompense.

As stipulated in the Regulations adopted by UNESCO’s Executive Board, the UNESCO/ Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize is intended to ‘honour a person, organisation or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and /or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if this involved risk.

Kenya citizens, individuals, local and regional professional and non-governmental organisations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression may nominate Kenyan candidates for the Prize.

For more details please visit: en.unesco.org/news/unesco-se

The nominations must be channelled through KNATCOM via This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Tel: +254 (020) 2229053/4 by 6th Feb 2018 for onward submission to UNESCO head office in Paris, France.

You may download the submission template form from our website www.unesco.go.ke

UNESCO-Hamdan bin Rashid Al-Maktoum Prize

The UNESCO-Hamdan bin Rashid Al-Maktoum Prize for Outstanding Practice and Performance in Enhancing the Effectiveness of Teachers was created in 2008 to support the improvement of teaching and learning quality in achieving the Education for All goals, which is one of UNESCO’s priorities.

Candidates nominated for the Prize may be individuals representing institutions or organizations; international or national governmental or non-governmental organizations; and educational or research institutions and local/national/regional communities. Nominations must be submitted by the governments of Member States, in consultation with Kenya National Commissions for UNESCO, and by non-governmental organizations maintaining official partnerships with UNESCO. A candidate shall be put forward by no more than one nominating body.

Awarded every two years, the Prize is generously supported by His Highness Sheikh Hamdan Bin Rashid Al-Maktoum of the United Arab Emirates. It amounts to US $100,000 awarded to the winner whose project aims at improving worldwide performance and effectiveness of teachers.

The winner is selected by an International Jury composed of five distinguished professionals chosen for their high-level of knowledge and experience in teacher-related issues.

The Prize will be awarded for the 5th time at a ceremony that will take place during World Teachers’ Day celebrations at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris on 5 October 2018.

The deadline for submitting nominations for the 2017-2018 Prize is 22nd October 2017.

To submit a nomination, please download the Guide, the Application Form and the Nomination Form.

Download the Statutes of UNESCO-Hamdan Prize.

Contact: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

For More info: UNESCO Hamdan Prize

Call for Nomination letter (pdf)

Fior more info Please click http://www.unesco.org/new/en/social-and-human-sciences/events/prizes-and-celebrations/unesco-prizes/madanjeet-singh-prize/

Call for nominations: UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence

UNESCO invites governmental and non-governmental entities, civil society actors and individuals active in strengthening foundations for peace and tolerance to propose candidates for the 2018 UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence.

Deadline: the closing date for submissions is 21 April 2018 at midnight CET.

Who is eligible?

The purpose of the Prize is to reward individuals, institutions and other entities or non-governmental organizations that have made exceptional contributions and demonstrated leadership in the promotion of tolerance and non-violence.

How to submit your nomination

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the nomination form in either English or French, no later than 30 April 2018, by post or by e-mail.

Additional materials (publications, video, audio and other teaching materials, etc.) may be attached to the nomination form.

Download the Nomination Form